ACLS Digital Innovation Fellowships

The American Council of Learned Societies invites application for the seventh annual competition of the Digital Innovation Fellowships.
This program supports digitally based research projects in all disciplines of the humanities and humanities-related social sciences.  It is hoped that projects of successful applicants will help advance digital humanistic scholarship by broadening understanding of its nature and exemplifying the robust infrastructure necessary for creating such works.
ACLS Digital Innovation Fellowships are intended to support an academic year dedicated to work on a major scholarly project that takes a digital form. Projects may:

  • Address a consequential scholarly question through new research methods, new ways of representing the knowledge produced by research, or both;
  • Create new digital research resources;
  • Increase the scholarly utility of existing digital resources by developing new means of aggregating, navigating, searching, or analyzing those resources;
  • Propose to analyze and reflect upon the new forms of knowledge creation and representation made possible by the digital transformation of scholarship.

ACLS will award up to eight ACLS Digital Innovation Fellowships in this competition year.
Stipends up to $60,000
Project costs up to $25,000
Deadline: September 28, 2011.
For more information visit:
During the 2010-11 cycle, ACLS awarded nearly $15 million to 350 scholars based in the United States and abroad working in the humanities and related social sciences.  Visit the Fellows & Research section to view recent awardee listings and profiles.
American Council of Learned Societies
633 Third Avenue
New York, NY 10017